The first thing you will need to buy is a potty. You should do this well in advance of potty training as it will help your baby to become comfortable with it being in the house, get used to seeing it and then sitting on it. You should keep it in full view of your toddler so they can get used to seeing it and then sitting on it.

The more relaxed you make the introduction of the potty, the better. Your little one needs to see it as a natural part of life, not a test. Once they are used to the potty being there, you can sit them on it after a meal. This is a good time to do it since most toddlers will have a poo after eating anyway, not through choice but as a reflex action.

Remember, many toddlers fear falling in to the toilet and a potty will often feel more comfortable than an adaptor for a full size toilet. A potty also allows your little one to have ownership of the potty training equipment, helping them feel even more comfortable using it. To further enhance this ownership, you may want to let your child personalise the potty with stickers or by writing their name on it.

You may also want to consider what nappies you buy. Today’s disposable nappies are so good at keeping babies and toddlers dry that many toddlers come late to potty training, unable to recognise when they're wet. This supports the widely held theory that babies who wear re-usable, 'real' nappies are potty trained earlier – they feel immediately when they are wet and want their nappies changed.

您需要購買的第一件物品就是兒童坐便器。您應在開始坐便訓練之前就買好便盆,以便幫助寶寶適應兒童坐便器在房間內的存在,習慣看到它乃至坐在它上面。您應該把兒童坐便器放到小寶寶的視線之內,以便寶寶習慣看到它乃至坐在它上面。

越是自然柔和地引入兒童坐便器,效果越好。您的小寶寶應該把它看作生活中很自然的一部分,而不是一個考驗。當他們習慣了兒童坐便器的存在後,您可以讓他們在飯後坐在上面。這個時間很好,因為大多數幼童會在餐後便便,這不是幼童的選擇,而是一種反射反應。

請謹記,很多幼童會害怕掉進馬桶裡,而且兒童坐便器往往比成人馬桶訓練椅更舒適。兒童坐便器還可讓您的小寶寶擁有這坐便訓練裝備,從而讓他們更願意使用它。為加強這種擁有感,您可以讓寶寶用貼貼紙或簽下自己名字的方式為他/她自己的兒童坐便器作裝飾。

您可能還會思考購買哪種尿片。現今’的一次性紙尿片能夠很好地保持嬰兒和幼童的皮膚乾爽,以至很多幼童推遲了坐便訓練的時間,因為他們無法意識到尿濕。這就支持了一種被廣泛接受的說法,穿著可反復使用的'真正'尿片的寶寶會較早開始坐便訓練 – 他們尿濕後就能立刻發覺並想要換尿片。