Sometimes a baby cries because he's hungry or uncomfortable. It may be something as simple as lying on an uncomfortable crease in his cot bedding, or being wet. He may have had a bad dream or just needed to see your face. He may even be telling you he wants to go to sleep and doesn't want to be passed from pillar to post! Whatever the reason, here are a few tried and tested ways to soothe baby.

Day Time Crying

At three months of age many babies cry for between two and three hours in a day. It seems a lot when it comes all in one go but it will lessen as your baby gets used to the world. Consider the following helpful tips for coping with day time crying.

Night Time Crying

Repeated sleepless or broken nights are one of the biggest sources of stress for parents of young children. Many babies and toddlers sleep less than the accepted norm, but as long as they are happy during their waking hours and do not seem unwell; they do not need medical attention. There are several things you can do to try to improve sleep problems:

Unusual Crying

As time goes by, you will learn to recognise many of your baby’s cries and you will get to know which cries are 'out of character' and may signify that there is something wrong – such as illness or fear.

Never hesitate to consult your health visitor or doctor if you are unable to calm your baby once you have addressed all the usual concerns such as hunger or changing his nappy.

有時候寶寶哭鬧是因為他肚餓或不舒服。有時可能只是因為寶寶躺在了床上不舒適的皺褶處,或者尿濕了。他可能做了噩夢或只是需要看看您的臉。他甚至可能是在告訴您他想要睡覺,不想被帶著到處走。無論是什麼原因,以下是幾條實踐證明有效的安撫寶寶的方法。

白天哭鬧

在三個月大時,很多寶寶每天會哭兩到三個小時。每次哭兩到三個小時顯得寶寶哭得很多,但是隨著寶寶對世界愈加適應,他哭的時間就會減少。考慮以下實用的貼士,應付寶寶白天的哭鬧。

夜間哭鬧

反覆徹夜無眠或睡眠被打斷是有小寶寶的父母們最大的壓力之源。很多嬰兒和幼童的睡眠時間比公認的標準時間短,但是只要他們在醒著時心情愉悅,沒有不健康的表現就好;他們不需要就醫。您可做以下幾件事試著改善睡眠問題:

異常哭鬧

慢慢您會學會辨別寶寶的各種哭聲,您會知道哪些哭聲'不尋常',很多哭聲可表明寶寶出了問題 – 例如生病或恐懼。

如果解決了飢餓或換尿片等所有常見問題後,您仍無法安撫寶寶,請立即諮詢您的健康探訪員或醫生。